top of page
Writer's pictureAshley Diaz

Infinity Hoop Fitness



Scrolling through tik tok I stumble upon home exercise equipment that would change my life. Exercising and eating healthier has always been a struggle for me. It became even harder when I was told by my doctor at 17 years old that I have PCOS and high cholesterol. One of the reasons I am overweight is because of my PCOS and to manage the condition I had to create a better lifestyle for myself. I had changed most of my unhealthy eating habits and started drinking more water, the only thing that didn’t change was my exercise regimen.

I have always felt uncomfortable exercising in a public gym. It made me feel like people were watching and judging me. I would start exercising at the gym for a month and then give up for how embarrassing it made me feel. So instead, I started walking around my neighborhood or playing dancing video games. Neither was a fun option for me because I liked exercising with company, but there never was someone who wanted to do those things with me. That all changed when I was scrolling on Tik Tok and discovered Infinity Hoop.

I thought it wouldn’t be so bad to purchase and try it out. I always liked playing with the hula hoop growing up and the Infinity Hoop is like a hula hoop with a weight. I bought it for 25 dollars because it looked like fun to use while helping me exercise my core, burning calories, decreasing cholesterol and reducing abdominal fat. According to Healthline, when you first start exercising with the hoop practice with your footing and start for 10 minutes to work your way to 30 minutes.

When I finally got the Infinity Hoop, I practiced for a while with my balance and footing. I started out using it for 10 minutes every day but eventually I used the hoop for 30 minutes every day. Once I had used the hoop for a while, I started doing some extra moves with Infinity Hoop. I would spin my whole body at the same time as spinning the weighted hoop. One of the greatest benefits of using the Infinity Hoop is I can read a book, watch a movie/video, read my emails and/or do my homework. At one point my family and I had a competition with each other about how long we could use the Infinity Hoop.

According to the National Library of Medicine, exercising with a weighted hula hoop can lower a woman's high cholesterol and decreases abdominal fat. Using the Infinity Hoop for a while helped with my health a lot. Exercising with the Infinity Hoop lowered my cholesterol to normal levels and my waist size lowered. I used to be a size 18 but now I am a size 12, sometimes 14 depending on the material.

Students at NSU can use the Infinity Hoop or any weighted hoop to exercise in their homes or in their dorms. They can use the hoop for the same purpose I use the hoop. If students don’t like going to the gym near their homes or to the gym at NSU they can hide out in their rooms with a weighted hoop. The Hoop could keep their cholesterol at a normal level, lower their abdominal fat, burn calories and increase their core strength just like it has helped me.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page